Your Councillors

Cllr Gary EtheridgeCllr Gary Etheridge

Gary has lived with his family in Strood since 1975 and is now retired after working as a Senior IT Manager for a number of well known, ‘Blue Chip’ companies.

Participating in both local and regional politics for over 40 years, has enabled Gary to play a full and active role on Medway Council.

Gary has the privilege of being the Vice Chairman for the Business Support Overview and Scrutiny Committee, whilst also serving on Planning, Regeneration, and Heath & Wellbeing Committees. He is also the Council appointed member for Strood Town Forum, the Lower Medway and North Kent Marshes Drainage Boards.



Cllr Peter HicksCllr Peter Hicks

Peter has lived in Upnor for over 25 years. He was first elected to represent Strood Rural in 2007, has served on Frindsbury Extra Parish Council since 2003 and is a member of Rochester Rotary Club.

Peter considers it a great privilege to represent all the residents of the many communities that make up Strood Rural. There are many committees which Peter sits on at Medway Council including: the Councillor Conduct Committee; Employment Matters Committee; Licensing and Safety Committee; Planning Committee; and the Regeneration, Culture and Environment Overview And Scrutiny Committee.

As well as these committees, Peter is appointed to various outside bodies such as the Chatham Regeneration Board, the Lower Medway Internal Drainage Board and Rural Liaison Committee.

Cllr John WilliamsCllr John Williams

John has lived in Wainscott for over 30 years. He is married and has 3 grown up children and works as an area sales manager for an oil company.

A member of the police liaison committee and a Frindsbury Extra Parish Councillor, he will continue to work with the police and Neighbourhood Watch to help stamp out anti-social behaviour in Strood Rural. John will continue to oppose any over development in the ward.

On Medway Council, John sits on the Children and Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Employment Matters Committee and the joint consultative committee. He is also a member of the Rural Liaison Committee, which is the liaison committee between Medway Council and each of the 11 parish councils. He is also a member of various outside bodies.